Funds, Scholarships & Awards

HSAS maintains several funds to assist HSAS members and their families. Please click below to learn more about each fund and how to apply.

Past winners of HSAS Scholarships and Awards are listed in each year’s convention book.

Click here to view past convention books.

Community Engagement Volunteer Fund

The purpose of this fund is to support HSAS member engagement in community activities and causes that support the mission of HSAS.

Only members of HSAS are eligible to apply.

HSAS members must fill out and submit the application form at least 30 days prior to the event commencing.

Donations will not be provided unless a completed event summary is received at the HSAS office within 2 weeks of the completed event.

Education Fund

It is the position of HSAS that the employer should be responsible for costs associated with continuing job related education and that this Fund should not be viewed as a primary funding source.

Only members of HSAS are eligible to apply.

The Education event must be directly related to your present position.

A lottery system is used to select successful applicants. Up to 80 applicants may be selected each year – 40 on January 15th and 40 on June 15th.

Education Fund Winners

Emergency Fund

The purpose is to provide members with monetary assistance when an unusual circumstance arises.

Payment is made on a one time basis, in the form of a non-repayable grant.

Open to all HSAS members in good standing for six months or longer.

Labour Relations Fund

The purpose of this Fund is to encourage HSAS members to increase their knowledge of Labour relations; therefore, the course being applied for must relate directly to this subject area.

Only Members of HSAS are eligible to apply.

Employees must be HSAS Members of at least twelve (12) months standing as of the day the course commences.

Awarded on a first come, first served basis.

Roberta Ekberg Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding, long-standing commitment and contribution to furthering and promoting the vision, well being and interests of HSAS. One yearly award of $500.00 will be given to the selected nominee.

Nominations must be received in the Saskatoon HSAS office no later than August 31st.

Ron Currie Award

Established in 1985, this $500.00 scholarship is awarded to a Pharmacy student in the College of Pharmacy at the University of Saskatchewan.  The award recognizes Ron’s leadership in guiding the formation of our Union.  A committee representing the Faculty of Pharmacy, HSAS and the Pharmacy Students Society chooses the recipient.

Silver Anniversary Scholarship

Open to a spouse or dependant of an HSAS member enrolled in full-time studies at a post secondary educational institution leading to a degree, diploma or certificate.

A lottery system is used to select successful applicants – up to 40 scholarships are awarded.

Applications must be received in the Saskatoon HSAS office no later than October 15.

Silver Anniversary Scholarship Award Winners

Warren Chykowski Memorial Award

The purpose of this award is to honour the memory of Warren Chykowski as a valued Member to HSAS for all that he accomplished during his years involved with the Union. In his memory, HSAS would like to encourage Respiratory Therapists to apply for the award.

The funding is intended to be used for one (1) Respiratory Therapist to attend the Canadian Society of Respiratory Therapists Annual Education Conference.

Only Active Members of HSAS are eligible to apply.

A lottery system will be used to select the successful applicant.

The successful applicant will be eligible for a maximum of $500.00.

The 2023 winner of the Warren Chykowski Memorial Award is Adam Buettner.